Welcome to 冉冉升起 RanRanShengQi

Lu Daoming welcomes you on a journey of friendship and hope. Together, let's learn new ideas: how to live with real meaning and joy.

Questions I’ve been asked …

When we think about the issues of 神, many questions naturally come up. This is true no matter what culture you come from, and no matter what kind of worldview you have. Some questions are impossible to answer – but it’s still OK to ask them. Other questions seem impossible, but actually can be answered, once we move into the right framework of thinking.

Some questions are valuable not because of their answers, but because of new questions that come from them. So I am really happy to think with you about what’s on your mind. I want to promise you something, though: if I have a good answer to the question, or if I have really strong evidence for an answer, I’ll tell you. If I “don’t” know the answer, I will be honest, and tell you that I don’t know. I don’t believe that there’s any value in pretending.

Sometimes people ask questions because they really want to know the answers. Other times they ask in order “play a game” of establishing that they’re more intelligent than the person they’re asking. Other times, we ask questions not because we expect an answer, but because we’re frustrated and don’t know how to express ourselves in any other way. As we work through questions, let’s keep our motivations in view, too. This will help us very much to arrive at truth.

Just for fun, let me share some of the questions with you that my 中国人friends have asked me. Sometimes they’ve asked in the course of conversations, and other times, in the course of our Roots course sessions.

Where did 神 come from?

What about 2012? Will the world end next year?

Does The Library say that the world was created in 6 24-hour days? What about the scientific evidence for a much longer time, and a very different process?

If the world once was perfect, as you say, and has fallen from a good place, why doesn’t 神 fix it?

If people were once close to 神 and messed up their relationship with 神, why doesn’t 神 fix it?

What’s the difference between what I do in the Buddhist temple and what you do when you pray to 神?

The Quran tells the story of Abraham, Isaac, and Ishmael in a very different way from The Library: why don’t you believe the Quran?

Will things in the world always get better?

What happens when people suffer too much?

What does The Library say about life on other planets?

What does The Library say about dinosaurs?

Well, what do you think? Do you have questions that you’d like to hear some answers for? Would you like for me to try to deal with some of these? You’re welcome to leave a reply and let me know what you think. I’ll do my best. I may or may not have answers, but I’ll tell you if I don’t. Even if I don’t have answers, I may have some related questions or new perspective that will help.

多保重


 
 
 

All text & audio are copyrighted 2009-2011, except Biblical text.
Contact author for details. 100% non-political.

Leave a Reply

